DNC: Obama Acceptance Speech

I missed most of it “live” but was impressed by what little I did manage to catch.

I’d have to say this was the most powerful part of the entire speech:

But what I will not do is suggest that the Senator takes his positions for political purposes. Because one of the things that we have to change in our politics is the idea that people cannot disagree without challenging each other’s character and patriotism.

The times are too serious, the stakes are too high for this same partisan playbook. So let us agree that patriotism has no party. I love this country, and so do you, and so does John McCain. The men and women who serve in our battlefields may be Democrats and Republicans and Independents, but they have fought together and bled together and some died together under the same proud flag. They have not served a Red America or a Blue America — they have served the United States of America.

So I’ve got news for you, John McCain. We all put our country first.

Nicely done. We’ll see if Kevin Drum is right that this “put a serious dent in McCain’s ability to continue campaigning with dumb soundbites and too-cute-by-half innuendo.” If past is prologue, as they say, I wouldn’t bet any money on it. To the contrary, I suspect this bilious screed will be entirely typical of the reaction from the invidious mole-men of the right.

Seems to have gotten high marks from CNN’s resident GOP consultant Alex Castellanos, however. Although it has to be said that he’s generally one of the more fair-minded right-wing commenters. A rare thing indeed!

The New York Times has the transcript of the speech here.

Update: I liked this line from the Rude Pundit — “Now, mainstream politically speaking, that’s how you beat down an old man.”

7 Replies to “DNC: Obama Acceptance Speech”

  1. Hope you had a good evening, Red.

    The speech was incredible, truly incredible.

    Here is my favorite section of his address (though I was impressed with many):

    —–

    Because in the faces of those young veterans who come back from Iraq and Afghanistan, I see my grandfather, who signed up after Pearl Harbor, marched in Patton’s Army, and was rewarded by a grateful nation with the chance to go to college on the GI Bill.

    In the face of that young student who sleeps just three hours before working the night shift, I think about my mom, who raised my sister and me on her own while she worked and earned her degree; who once turned to food stamps but was still able to send us to the best schools in the country with the help of student loans and scholarships.

    When I listen to another worker tell me that his factory has shut down, I remember all those men and women on the South Side of Chicago I stood by and fought for two decades ago after the local steel plant closed.

    And when I hear a woman talk about the difficulties of starting her own business or making her way in the world, I think about my grandmother, who worked her way up from the secretarial pool to middle-management, despite years of being passed over for promotions because she was a woman. She’s the one who taught me about hard work. She’s the one who put off buying a new car or a new dress for herself so that I could have a better life. She poured everything she had into me. And although she can no longer travel, I know that she’s watching tonight, and that tonight is her night as well.

    Now, I don’t know what kind of lives John McCain thinks that celebrities lead, but this has been mine. These are my heroes. Theirs are the stories that shaped my life. And it is on behalf of them that I intend to win this election and keep our promise alive as president of the United States.

    —–

    I heard that line about John McCain and celebrities and wanted to cheer (which is rare for me). It was the most subtle and elegant “TAKE THAT!” I’ve heard in a long time.

    If the republicans immediate response is any indication of how they intend to carry out the rest of their campaign (basically, empty suit blah blah blah), then that’s great. Because they will just sound petty to independents and unify the Democrats that much more.

  2. Very good evening, thanks.

    I just finished watching the repeat on CNN. It’s hard to imagine a much better speech. A bit over the top in parts… At one point I almost expected him to say he was going to heal the sick, restore sight to the blind, and make the lame walk again. 😉

    But seriously, it was a wonderfully crafted speech that seemed to hit all the right notes. Marvelously paced and almost perfectly delivered.

  3. Well, I don’t think a lot will change with Obama as president, but hell, the man does good speech.

    Do you think we’ll be treated to those kinds of inpsiring words?

    Hell no, more Mr. Angry and “Dion Tax Grab” nonsense from the liars in the Conservative Party and more poorly spoken double talk from the liars in the Liberal Party.

    Jack Layton will be, well, Jack Layton – start off ok and devolve into a used car salesman, thanks to the liars in the NDP.

    At least Gille Duceppe is good for laugh, because he doesn’t have to lie to the people outside of Quebec and has a great wit. And he speaks English better than Dion. His liars can concentrate on French.

    We’ll get all of that but no words of inspiration.

  4. I think you’ve got it cased fairly accurately. I’m certainly not anticipating being edified or impressed by the forthcoming spectacle. Our elections are, generally speaking, horrifically boring, tightly scripted affairs that cling to painfully dull narratives and uninspiring themes. Mercifully, they don’t last that long.

    Back to Obama… No, things won’t change that much if he’s elected. All these guys are bought and paid for. I’d like to think however that his administration might be a lot less overtly stupid, incompetent and belligerent. I could wish for a lot more, but that would just be asking for disappointment.

  5. It was truly “Clintonian”…..I’m here for you ….as in I feel your pain.

    Apparently, Obama studied former speeches of FDR, JFK, Reagan and Clinton.

    The simplicity of getting to the point is very Clinton.

    Speaking of celebrities and the Republicans that hate them….I saw one actress interviewed (don’t know her name) and she said that one thing they forget is most artists come from every day backgrounds.

  6. I’m certainly not anticipating being edified or impressed by the forthcoming spectacle. Our elections are, generally speaking, horrifically boring, tightly scripted affairs that cling to painfully dull narratives and uninspiring themes.

    And let’s keep them that way.

    I don’t care for speeches and I don’t look for politicians to give my life meaning or to inspire me. I expect them to do their jobs and not screw up too badly.

Leave a comment