9/11 Memorial Plaza

A detailed architectural look at the “heart” of the Ground Zero redevelopment project in lower Manhattan.

Seems altogether excessive when compared to past memorials of various sorts to the dead, but perhaps that’s not altogether surprising if one considers it a reflection on the ridiculously oversized sense of importance that present-day Americans attribute to their own lives.

Aside from its disproportionately wasteful scale, the memorial is full of obnoxious symbolism. The grotesquely unimaginative pools which are its centrepiece resemble nothing so much as two giant basin sinks with constantly sucking drain holes in the shape of square black voids. What a lovely metaphor that is…

Then there are other irksome features such as the bronze parapets bearing all 3,025 names of the attack’s victims being meticulously engineered to ensure that throughout the year they “remain comfortable to the touch” – a truly perverse and sterile concept that defies nature (as is the fact that the water in the “calming pools” will be slightly heated so as to never freeze in winter).

Who knows… maybe in years to come when the artificial forest of oak trees surrounding the Memorial Plaza has grown to maturity it could well be a wonderful public space (provided its elaborate mechanical life support systems haven’t broken down or been defunded), or it could just as easily wind up being a horribly designed park filled with minimalist piles of junk and half-dead trees, grafted onto the concrete roof of a neglected subterranean museum commemorating a tragic event that subsequent generations have long since chosen to forget about.

11 Replies to “9/11 Memorial Plaza”

  1. Or maybe we could turn it into a monument to a real tragedy like our ignoring the deaths in Rwanda or Nigeria or even Iraq and Afghanistan in pursuit of our real objectives: power and money.

    S

  2. Suzan: I sometimes wonder how the people who perished at WTC would feel knowing that each and every one of their deaths were avenged by the killing of a hundredfold or more times of innocent civilians in reprisal.

  3. FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!! FUCK YOU NIGGER!!!!!!! I HOPE YOU FUCKING DIE!!!!!!!

  4. YOU FUCKING DICKHEAD COCKSUCKING NIGGER!!!! I HOPE YOU DIE IN A TERRORIST ATTACK!!!!! NO ONE WILL MISS YOU!!!! FUCK YOU PEICE OF SHIT!!!!! AWKKK TOOOEY!

  5. Oh I don’t want her
    You can have her
    She’s too fat for me
    She’s too fat for me
    She’s too fat for me
    Oh I don’t want her
    You can have her
    She’s too fat for me
    She’s too fat
    She’s too fat
    She’s too fat for me

    Oh I don’t want her
    You can have her
    She’s too fat for me
    She’s too fat for me
    She’s too fat for me
    Oh I don’t want her
    You can have her
    She’s too fat for me
    She’s too fat
    She’s too fat
    She’s too fat for me

  6. R.e.a.m.
    You seem really upset by this post. Did you lose a loved one on 9/11? If so please accept my condolences. If not then what the heck are your trying to prove and to whom?

    Sincerely,

    p.s. The correct spelling is piece, NOT peice. Remember this rule – “i before e except after c except when said ‘ay’ as in ‘neighbor’ and ‘weigh'”.

  7. Ah, the perils of being a free speech purist.

    RIAM: I’ll let your vile comments go in this instance — if for no other reason than to demonstrate what hypocritical bullshit it is when sanctimonious right-wingers talk about having an exclusive hold on civil discourse — but in future your psychotic outbursts will simply be deleted (or I’ll filter you out beforehand… when I get around to it).

    If you have something legitimate to say, take your meds first and dial back the foul-mouthed gibberish. Picking a different handle would also be a good idea. Try being a little more imaginative. Or use your real name, as I do.

Leave a comment