Feliz Navidad

Beware the seemingly harmless fantasies you create – for you may come to regret them later. That seems to be the message of this intriguing short film by Alberto González Vázquez concerning a debate between a father and son about the existence of Santa Claus.

Warning: It’s in Spanish and so the dialog goes at a rapid clip, thereby making it somewhat challenging at times to keep up with the subtitles, so give it another run-through if necessary… it’s worth the effort. And for best effect, hit the full-screen mode on the clip.

To all my readers and most especially the good folks that elect to comment here on occasion, let me take this opportunity to wish you a very Merry Christmas (or whatever holiday you celebrate at this time of the year).

10 Comments

Filed under Holidays

10 responses to “Feliz Navidad

  1. Tomm

    That was hilarious.

    I will make sure all my kids (who are home for Christmas) get to see it.

    Thank you for the gift.

    I hope 2011 was good to you. I expect 2012 will be even better.

    Cheers

  2. Tomm: All considered, 2011 wasn’t terribly bad for me. Goodness knows, I’ve certainly had worse!

    Glad you enjoyed the video. I think it’s a real gem.

    All the best to you and your family for the holidays and the New Year.

  3. Tomm

    RT,

    Thanks for the thought.

    I think a little Christopher Hitchens is apporpriate:

    “…I say “Merry Christmas” to people I don’t know, or who I know are Christians. I say “”Happy Hanukkah” to people I suspect or know to be Jewish. And I don’t say “Happy Kwanzaa”, because I think African American’s get enough insults all year round.”

  4. Heh. On “The Last Word” the other night one of the guys behind “The Onion” (who happens to be black) was on and in parting, while rattling through all the various seasonal greetings, he tossed off a made-up holiday called “Hanukkwanzaa” which I thought was kind of brilliant.

  5. Craig Chamberlain

    Thanks for that, RT! That was hilarious! I was expecting it to evolve into a debate about the existence of God, though…

    All the best of the Season. With gratitude for the smartest blog I know, may 2012 be spammer-free.
    Cheers! CC.

  6. tofkw

    Well since this is the thread for exchanging pleasantries for the season, a special greeting from me (“the wishor”) to you (“hereinafter called the wishee”). Please accept without obligation, implied or implicit, my best wishes for an environmentally conscious, socially responsible, politically correct, low stress, non-addictive, gender neutral, celebration of the winter solstice holiday, practiced within the most enjoyable traditions of the religious persuasion of your choice, or secular practices of your choice, with respect for the religious/secular persuasions and/or traditions of others, or their choice not to practice religious or secular traditions at all.

    By accepting this greeting you are bound by these terms that-

    – This greeting is subject to further clarification or withdrawal.
    – This greeting is freely transferable provided that no alteration shall be made to the original greeting and that the proprietary rights of the wishor are acknowledged.
    – This greeting implies no promise by the wishor to actually implement any of the wishes.
    – Any references in this greeting to “the Lord”, “Father Christmas”, “Our Saviour”, or any other festive figures, whether actual or fictitious, dead or alive, shall not imply any endorsement by or from them in respect of this greeting, and all proprietary rights in any referenced third party names and … oh fuck it!
    Merry Christmas, or whatever floats your boat.

  7. and with that, tofkw wins all of my xmas.

    KEvron

  8. TofKW: I hereby accept and/or endorse your beneficent wishes for the aforementioned festive season and reiterate them in kind with respect to you and your familial associates. 😉

  9. jkg

    Festivus! It’s all about Festivus for the rest of us! Anyway, enjoy the holidays, Red. I will be facing the hordes of shoppers today, so I may just have a little snifter in my pocket :). Take care!

  10. No last-minute shopping for me this year! Except, of course, to stock up on enough booze and cigarettes to enable me from having to leave the house for the duration of the “holidays”… Which so far have been quite wonderfully lazy and thoroughly unproductive.

Leave a Reply

