Posties Sign Own Death Warrant

I have nothing against postal workers or unions in general, but going on strike during the midst of an economic recession is, in my opinion, completely insane.

Like many others I suspect, if Canada Post were to cease operations altogether, I wouldn’t miss their “service” in the least. After all, the only thing they deliver to my doorstep is junk mail and utility bills. The former I can quite happily live without and the latter could more easily be replaced by an e-mail notification from my utility providers.

If anything, this pointless strike should spur more small businesses and people in general to transition all of their vital transactions to e-commerce alternatives. There is no sensible reason in this day and age that pension cheques and even welfare payments can’t be done by means of automatic deposit.

38 Comments

Filed under Labour Issues

38 responses to “Posties Sign Own Death Warrant

  1. Tomm

    I too don’t know what the posties are thinking.

  2. I too don’t know what the posties are thinking.

    Indeed. The working class mind is so exasperatingly opaque.

    Would that we had a few regiments of Cossacks who could send the layabouts a sabre-punctuated wake-up call.

  3. Tomm

    Sir Fancis,

    You truly are a man I could have a beer with.

    Cossacks circling the CUPW pickets brandishing swords. I couldn’t have developed that vision in a million years.

  4. CWTF

    There is no sensible reason in this day and age that pension cheques and even welfare payments can’t be done by means of automatic deposit.
    Bullshit.
    If one believes even nominally is trying to retain privacy. I’ve tried some electronic transfer schemes only to realize when there are fuckups (and they always will) the kafkaesque nightmare of trying to reverse what the banks have so gingerly overpaid to certain utilities.

    As this moment, I’m still trying to get Bell to continue delivering my paper bills (that I pay $3.00 for). These assclowns have one of my email addresses and now they think that I want to get an email notice instead…

    While there is a recession going on, it does not seem to be stopping record profits for big corporations and even bigger paycheques for some. Maybe the problem lies there.

  5. My God, it’s pathetic.

  6. F John Perry

    Speaking as a postal worker, and minor union officer:

    It is clear that you are completely ignorant of the points at issue in this particular labour dispute, and of the long drawn out and exceedingly frustrating negotiation process which preceded this strike (so far only a semi-strike). I will not bore you with the details, as I am sure you have no interest.

    I will grant you that a postal strike is indeed a perilous measure in these times, and note that we managed to avoid one for fourteen years. What you don’t have any appreciation of is that for a union to submit unconditionally to that dictates of an arbitrary and none-too-benign employers, in a legally binding four-year contract, is also a perilous venture.

  7. Tomm

    F John,

    I, for one am interested in some of the details.

    My questions relate to:

    How much are people getting paid… is there a way to end the employment of a union worker… has the Union been aggressively helping (or offering) the employer to re-structure to meet the changing communication needs of society? What are the key issues (money? benefits? security? etc)?

  8. Nomennovum

    What if someone went on strike and nobody noticed?

    This may be the beginning of something wonderful …

    Insha’allah

  9. Nomennovum

    “The working class mind is so exasperatingly opaque. ”

    That’s why you were meant to rule them, Frank.

  10. You seem to be new at this, Nomen. Practice makes perfect, but please don’t take that as encouragement.

  11. Gordon S

    How is it pointless? CP is profitable yet wants to cut benefits/wages to their unionized employees. Should they not strike out of solidarity with non-unionized suckers suffering through ‘austerity’?

    And the company does more than letters, they also courier, and are competitive with any of the private couriers. You’d think someone suggesting more e-commerce would actually know that CP delivers goods ordered online cheaper than most.

  12. Lars

    I seem to recall that one R. Harvey claims this blog as his own. It’s a bit easier to believe on some occasions.

  13. Nomennovum

    Ah, the social-climber’s mind is so refreshingly transparent. Thanks, Frank!

  14. tofkw

    Sir Francis,

    nomennovum isn’t as new a name as his login would suggest:

    http://rightofcenterice.blogspot.com/2007/06/bigot-litmus-test-genius-of-nomennovum.html

    There is more current literature if you care to Goggle.

  15. TofKW:

    Oh, I knew that Nomen had been banned all over the Net as a noxious troll. I acknowledge his existence merely out of pity—for which, of course, I get no thanks. The ingrate.

  16. Ah, the social-climber’s mind is so refreshingly transparent.

    Speaking of which, you might want to do a bit of climbing yourself, Nomen. I suggest starting with the evolutionary scale.

  17. Craig Chamberlain

    Death warrant? More like “kill shot”.

    Even Canada Post offers on-line service. E-commerce is not going away and flyers can be delivered as newspaper inserts.

  18. Nomennovum

    “Speaking of which, you might want to do a bit of climbing yourself, Nomen. I suggest starting with the evolutionary scale.”

    Right you are! I should start with climbing the hell out of here, no?

  19. Craig Chamberlain

    Entertaining, everyone. But this wasn’t about you.

  20. zia

    Your last sentence:

    There is no sensible reason in this day and age that pension cheques and even welfare payments can’t be done by means of automatic deposit.

    makes sense not much.
    For 5+ years now the preferred method for both the issue and reception of federal and provincial government checks of all sorts has been direct deposit. End of the post office except for some personal mail and packages is an exponential chronic condition. Why cable and other utility bills still come in the mail is a wonder of disenchantment. And any other business that depends on postal service we would more than likely be better off without. The postal service is a ghost yet you have detected suicidal tendencies in the union of postal workers. As good a time to drop the imagery and observe as many contiguous moments of silence necessary for the departure of the once was.

  21. E-Billing is one area of corporate ineptitude that continues to confound me. Would I love to stop receiving my bills in the mail? Absolutely. But the corporations that provide me service either try to tie direct billing to automatic debiting against my Credit Card or they do not provide full line-item of what I am being billed for. Or worse they try to do both. Since neither of these options are acceptable to me, I still opt for the old fashioned snail mail billing system.

    But that isn’t out of love for Canada Post. Just out of disgust over Corporate billing incompetence and stupidity.

  22. rob

    There are so many things we don’t need now. Buses everyone can afford a car now. “Police” the price of policing is outrages. Everyone can afford to buy their own gun and protect their property. Teachers pay is also outrages people can teach their kids at home. I don’t have kids why should I pay for other peoples kids. Everyone has a computer in their home lets get rid of the postman.

  23. jkg

    Catelli has a good point. The most notorious of methods is ‘automatic billing,’ which is difficult to extricate, if you decided to change services. There is a certain degree of transparency in asking everything literally on paper.

    A slightly bit off topic, but for the Red Tories, I thought I would like to share with you a funny thing: I usually just google “red tory” and Red’s blog comes up in the third or 4th listing. The news ‘item” this time around was that a “Red Tory” faction in the CPC was victorious in this weekend’s convention. Curiously, I discovered that they were referring to Peter McKay ensuring that riding associations would have equal weighting in choosing party leaders. That’s right folks, McKay is a Red Tory now.

  24. JKG:

    Referring to former members of the P.C. Party as “Red Tories” is just typical media sloppiness and ignorance—like referring to the people of Iran as “Arabs” [David Warren, come on down!].

  25. tofkw

    Well, in the media’s defense, the final political home for any Red Tories was the within the PC party. I still kept holding my nose and voting PC even though they supported NAFTA. A couple of friends did join the Greens when Jim Harris was leading them, though aside from them and our own Aeneas here, I don’t know for certain how many other Tories now call the GPC their home.

    However yes this is a case of ignorance and lazy reporting to just label all ex-PCers as Red Tories. There was a diversity there as much as within any political party.

    What I find more objectionable is the media still referring to the current Conservative party as ‘Tory’. They are no closer to being actual Tories than the Liberals are.

  26. scanner

    I think the CUPW leaders would have been better advised to wait for the General Strike which will result when the current Government introduces legislation to eliminate collective bargaining among the various Unions speaking for Federal Civil Servants. Look to Wisconsin and see the labour future, although I don’t know if our population is anywhere near as bold as the citizens of Wisconsin seem to be.

  27. off-topic and unforgiveably self-indulgent, but would you mind having a look at my project?

    KEvron

  28. oops. i meant to leave a url, not to embed.
    KEvron

  29. jkg

    like referring to the people of Iran as “Arabs” [David Warren, come on down!].

    Mr. Warren certainly knows how to embarrass himself, and rather coincidentally, bringing his name up about the misuse of “Red Tory” reminded me that Steve Paikin had him on discussing “Red Toryism,” here .

    @kev

    Nice work!

  30. Craig Chamberlain

    tofkw
    June 13, 2011 at 6:30 am
    “What I find more objectionable is the media still referring to the current Conservative party as ‘Tory’. They are no closer to being actual Tories than the Liberals are.”

    Yes! Thank you.

    The media is smarter than that. So, it would seem it is complicit in what we have and will see from Mr. Harper, Party of One (not entirely what people were thinking when they supposedly voted for a “strong, stable” government). It’s no oversight. Use a name people are familiar with and proceed to work from it.

  31. philosoraptor

    Hey Red

    Haven’t seen a post up in a while…I hope you’re just on vacation for the summer…

    Thought you might like this short video about the problem with the US economy. Clinton labour secretary Robert Reich sums it up in 2 minutes, with drawings: The Truth About the Economy

    Unfortunately, few are listening down south, and I fear we’re not long for these problems either, given the current governing party’s love of all things Republican.

  32. sassy

    OK, which one of you gave Red Tory the summer off of blogging and why didn’t you let the rest of use know.

    Either that or he’s been eaten by a giant Winnipeg mosquito 😦

  33. sassy

    us know not use know

  34. Red Tory revival, Red. You know you it’s right. And thanks for the comments.

  35. Many interesting comments here, a lot of which I wish now that I’d taken issue with at the time this was posted.

    To those railing against online billing/payment arrangements, I’m quite baffled by your complaints. Maybe I’ve just been incredibly lucky (which would be a first for me) over the years, but I’ve never encountered any problems with them. Mind you, I would NEVER go with “automatic billing”… Instead, I just throw them an amount of money each month that I estimate that I likely owe the utility and periodically settle up any discrepancy based on the paper invoices they insist on mailing to me.

    To the posties and their sympathizers, by most accounts I think you had a fairly reasonable deal on the table and rejected it. Following your strike action, the government weighed in and imposed a settlement that was less than what CPC was prepared to offer and is detrimental to your workers. My point here was that going on strike at this time was both a tactical and strategic mistake and it seems that events have proven me to be correct.

    Rob… you are insane and your comment has to be dealt with separately.

  36. Rob:

    Okay, seeing as we’re going through the Way-Back Machine here in the comments, it’s necessary to fist include your remarks:

    Buses everyone can afford a car now.

    Well, I guess I’m not part of “everyone” because I for one cannot afford a car. Never mind the initial outlay of funds, but the monthly finance charges, insurance, maintenance and running costs alone would far exceed the measly $75/month of my bus pass. Do you seriously believe that people making less than $25,000 per annum can afford 30% or more of their gross income just to drive car?

    “Police” the price of policing is outrages. Everyone can afford to buy their own gun and protect their property.

    This assertion is wrong on many levels. Do you really believe that law enforcement should be replaced by a bunch of yahoos buying guns to defend their property. And again, this notion that “everyone” can afford several hundred dollars to buy a gun, even if they wanted to, and then take the time needed and pay for instruction to use it properly is patently absurd.

    Teachers pay is also outrages people can teach their kids at home. I don’t have kids why should I pay for other peoples kids. Everyone has a computer in their home…

    And gee, aren’t you a stellar example of home-schooling? Where, despite the prevalence of computers, they don’t teach anything about grammar, punctuation or the rudiments of logic and critical thinking.

  37. jim

    Lets get rid of the fire dept too I pay for them but have never used them yet!

Leave a Reply

