Papal Praise for Homer Simpson

The Vatican’s official newspaper L’Osservatore Romano yesterday congratulated The Simpsons on its 20th anniversary, praising the shows philosophical leanings as well as its stinging and often irreverent take on religion.

In an article titled “Aristotle’s Virtues and Homer’s Doughnut” a number of religion-themed episodes are mentioned, including one in which Homer calls for divine intervention by crying: “I’m not normally a religious man, but if you’re up there, save me, Superman!”

Homer’s religious confusion is “a mirror of the indifference and the need that modern man feels toward faith.” The paper says: “Homer finds in God his last refuge, even though he sometimes gets His name sensationally wrong.” But L’Osservatore Romano is persuaded that “these are just minor mistakes (because) the two know each other well.”

4 Comments

Filed under Humour, Religion

4 responses to “Papal Praise for Homer Simpson

  1. euro22

    I am a huge fan of the Simpsons and seen every episode they made. I grew up watching the Simpsons and they have continually made me laugh. There is much said about religion and secularism in the Simpsons. I think the Simpson family portrays the average American family quite well.

  2. Arguably the best television show, ever.

  3. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one!

    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Great choice of colors!

  4. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

