Starless & Bible Black

I turned the big 5-0 today so forgive me for indulging in a little sentimental nostalgia… I’ve been digging through a lot of old “progressive” rock music by the usual suspects. I’m especially attached to this piece because it was one of the very first things I threw on the platter of my new stereo with great excitement in my very first apartment (a terrific sub-let in a somewhat decrepit old home built in the 20s that actually had a piano in the dining-slash-bedroom — not that I can play, but that didn’t stop me from endlessly meandering on it).

Pre-Internet, I wasn’t sure where the title came from. I knew it was by Dylan Thomas, but that’s all. In fact, it’s from a radio play that he wrote called Under the Milkwood that was broadcast on the BBC in 1954. “It is Spring, moonless night in the small town, starless and bible-black, the cobblestreets silent and the hunched, courter’s-and-rabbits’ wood limping invisible down to the sloeblack, slow, black, crowblack, fishingboat-bobbing sea.”

Another absolute fave of that time:

Pandemonium seesaw… I ran for the door, ringmaster shouted, “All the fun of the Cirkus!” Brilliant.

Anyway, an open thread if you wish… and, of course, feel free to embed cool tunes in the comments.

18 Comments

Filed under Musical Interludes, Personal Crap

18 responses to “Starless & Bible Black

  1. Gayle

    Happy Birthday RT! Hope you got everything you wanted.

  2. Thanks.

    No. But it’s all good just the same. 🙂

  3. burpster

    Happy Birthday, Red Tory.

  4. Sassy had the video I’d have put up!

    Anyway, saw the menu you posted on twitter. Sounds yummy, enjoy and hope you have 50 more.

  5. Thanks all.

    I’ve never been terribly keen on birthdays. They were a somewhat alien ritual to my parents and I’ve carried over some of their awkward diffidence in that regard, I guess.

    My folks used to wrap presents (almost invariably books) in brown paper wrapping to signify the distinctly un-festive nature of the occasion. Which was fine by me… because I cared not for that, and just loved being able to scramble back to the warm comfort of bed with my new stash of books about military history, science, etc., spending the rest of the day poring over them in rapture as I skipped out of school — with permission!

    I don’t think I’ve had a really good birthday since I was about 12 yrs. old. They’ve all been rather dreary, god-awful non-events since then. Case in point: I’ve done the dishes and the significant other has been fast asleep for an hour already and now I’m here all alone in the quiet dark with my lonely thoughts…

  6. Happy 50th, Red Tory.

    Listen to my prog.rock show. It’s my birthday present to you(just click on the link at the site…player will pop up):

    http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=63029

  7. Gooner — Downloading…. Looking forward to it, but it seems to be interminably jammed out at the moment.

    Are you at the U of W? I used to hang out there sometimes on my lunch hours when I worked at a horrible customs brokerage dungeon down the road. Having lunch in the graveyard under the Ambassador Bridge overpass was actually an uplifting experience by comparison…

    Anyway, thanks for the thought.

  8. They’ve all been rather dreary, god-awful non-events since then.

    Even the ones you weren’t sober for? 😉

    I’ve never had a decent birthday. The first one really sucked. All I got was a smack on the ass. After that, it was all downhill.

    …the significant other has been fast asleep for an hour already.

    Fast asleep, for an hour, by 8:49? Man. Life in the fast lane’s taking a heavy toll chez Red!

  9. Truthfully, I can’t fully account for the ones I wasn’t sober for. Of which, I suspect there were quite a few during the 20 years leading up to the millennium… but of course, not being entirely cognizant at the time, I couldn’t possibly comment. 😉

    The fast lane, indeed! At night, I have to skulk about in the dark like a guilty mole, lest the faintest murmur of existence disturb the local sleepers that are, by turn, deeply comatose and yet strangely alive to the faintest signs of life…

  10. You’re what!?!?

    Many, many happy returns.

    For what it’s worth – your horoscope for the year:

    If today is your birthday: This year, you make waves. Others back off in the face of your excellent verbal skills. Consider possibilities in your immediate environment. Count on an element of spontaneity in your life. Often, you will be forced to rethink situations creatively. If you are single, don’t count on a relationship being long-term until it has gone a year. Even so, you will enjoy a very exciting bond. If you are attached, it is as if someone put explosives in your lives. Boredom won’t be a possibility. Accept and you will behave like new lovers. Aquarius can be quite provocative.

    BORN TODAY: Goldie Hawn, 64

  11. jkg

    Ah, RT, I know the feeling. For me, it is just another day. My celebration involved swimming laps and inoculating petri plates. However, I did manage to have a bottle of unoaked Chardonnay from the Napa Valley. “Twas good. Here in eeeevil Ontario, our Liquor Control Board of Ontario is now promoting the so called “whiskey generation.” For me, this is great as I get to try all sorts of domestic blends and single malts. I have a 21 year old aged bottle from a distillery in Alberta; see? we Ontarians are not that sinister. If you can get your hands on it it is called Dangfields.

    also, I wish you a joyous completion of solar orbit. And for that, I give you this from a year ago:

  12. Happy 50th! Many happy returns.

  13. Omar

    That’s a milestone I’m not particularly relishing in the fall of 2013. I didn’t mind 30 and turning 40 wasn’t near as bad as I thought it would be, but 50? I can’t believe I’m going to be 50 in a few short years. Well, what are you gonna do? I mean really, reaching a ripe old age is what we all want, isn’t it? Isn’t it?!

    Happy Birthday, my man.

  14. As long as I have reasonably good health and a roof of some sort over my head, then yes, I’m all for a ripe old age. I’m quite easily amused these days. 🙂

  15. TofKW

    …and may you have many more years of good health, and a roof over your head of some sort. 😉

    Happy B-Day RT!

  16. Bazoo


    Happy B-Day, man

Leave a Reply

