Twitter: Where’s the Money?

Twitter co-founder and CEO Evan Williams gets grilled at the Web 2.0 Summit about the company’s revenue model (and present lack thereof). Williams dodges the question, but reiterates his confidence that the micro-blogging service will be able to capitalize on the commercial activity already occurring on the site.

The complete interview with Federated Media’s John Battelle can be viewed at Fora TV here. And a contrasting argument to the social media boom (or fad, if you prefer) by Jon Fisher (head of some division of Oracle) can be seen here.

3 Comments

Filed under Technology

3 responses to “Twitter: Where’s the Money?

  1. Ti-Guy

    If Twitter ends up not being a fad, I’ll just have to resign myself to the fact that I’ve entered a stage of life where I simply won’t be able to relate to any innovation at all anymore.

    I somehow doubt that though. I was thoroughly unimpressed during the dot.com bubble and I was in the thick of it at that time. I’m usually highly skeptical of commercial ventures involving products and services that people could easily do without, if they had to.

  2. Ehhh. I’ve sort of resigned myself to it. I find it a convenient way of sharing information, blathering on in a personal way, and also think it has some commercial viability in terms of immediate networking. If nothing else, I’m challenged in a delightful way by the enforced shorthand, even though I stubbornly refuse to get into the cryptic texting mode favoured by kids these days.

  3. Ti-Guy

    and also think it has some commercial viability in terms of immediate networking.

    I just don’t see that. And that interview with Evan William didn’t help.

Leave a Reply

