Teabagging in London

In a troubled climate of deep economic recession, I suppose it was only a matter of time before some version of the “mad as hell” anti-government “teabag” movement inevitably found it’s way over the border.

A non-profit, free-market civic watchdog group pleasantly called the Forest City Institute is sponsoring a “London S.O.S. (Stop Over-Spending) Rally” at the beginning of next month to “let London’s city council and bureaucrats know it is time to end London’s decade of darkness.”

A key speaker at the event will be the hateful right-wing tosspot and inflammatory bigot Kathy Shaidle. No word yet on who’s supplying the box for her to stand on.

This story should be interesting to watch unfold, if for no other reason than to perhaps see if this is maybe a precursor to other such protests from frustrated ratepayers across the country who may well quite justifiably feel their civic taxes are being improperly spent by their marginally elected officials.

18 Comments

Filed under Activism

18 responses to “Teabagging in London

  1. Bob

    Better than the hateful left-wing tosspots and inflammatory bigots that populate this blog Martin.

  2. Ti-Guy

    Better than the hateful left-wing tosspots and inflammatory bigots that populate this blog Martin.

    What’s better? Shlepping down to Londull to hear some reconstructed lefty drunk and failed Catholic tell us all, yet again, that she hates everybody and everything?

    I don’t think so, Boob.

  3. Nerdbeard

    Did he just say “I know you are but what am I?”

  4. Cameron

    Nerdbeard, I believe they both did… though Ti-Guys was funnier.

  5. I need to call the Ceeps and tell them to close before LaShailde decides to feed….on the souls of the young.

    Why am I (as a former London resident) not surprised that racist twit likes London? I’ll bet she’ll be burning a cross with the boys in Lucan afterwards…

  6. Hey “Bob”… if you insist on lazily drawing equivalencies perhaps you can back that up by actually demonstrating what I’ve ever written here that’s comparable to Shaidle’s hateful rubbish.

    Maybe you can cite an example that would be comparable to having an asinine chuckle over the Jallianwala Bagh Massacre in India that slaughtered 10,000 unarmed men, women and children and then wistfully suggesting that was a sign of “the good old times”?

    Or maybe you could point out what I’ve done over the years that could be at all measurable to relentlessly inciting bigoted prejudice against Muslims or people of colour based on complete lies, apparently just for the sheer malicious fun of it.

    So come on “Bob”… present your evidence.

    I realize you’re an anonymous pant-pissing coward that enjoys firing spitballs at me, but surely you have some shred of integrity, intellectual honesty and basic human decency.

    Or not. I could well be wrong about that.

  7. Ti-Guy

    Nerdbeard, I believe they both did…

    I was all set to write something substantive…like just what the hell does the Raging Mediocrity have to say about property taxes and municipal government responsibility and then Boob presented a more inviting target.

    There’s something else going on here with the “Forest City Institute.” Maybe they just think ol’ Five Feet can draw a bigger crowd, but just exactly what crowd does it want? London has enough problems with white supremacists as it is.

  8. I stand by my quite intentionally provocative description of Shaidle on the basis of truth (i.e., she is an inflammatory bigot, etc.). If anyone can disabuse me of that opinion I’d be most interested to hear their argument.

    But that’s really beside the point… I was just more curious about about this group’s upcoming protest in London and, as I said, whether it might be indicative of more such demonstrations to come.

    And also, if they might not be unjustified. I mean, if the claims made by FCI are verifiable then don’t they have a legitimate axe to grind?

  9. Ti-Guy

    I mean, if the claims made by FCI are verifiable…

    I’ve come to the conclusion that all claims about finances are unverifiable.

  10. My first instinct is to ask for proof. Sure, the numbers sound immediately compelling, but would it be too much to see the evidence? If I was in their boots making that case, I’d be providing stats to back up my claims. Instead, what you get is links to the following:

    Adam Smith Institute
    Advocates for Self-Government
    American Enterprise Institute
    Cascade Policy Institute
    Cato Institute
    Competitive Enterprise Institute
    Electronic Frontier Foundation
    Freedom House
    Foundation for Economic Education
    Hoover Institution
    The Independent Institute
    Institute of Economic Affairs
    Institute of Public Affiars
    John Locke Foundation
    Mackinac Centre
    Manhattan Institute
    Ludwig von Mises Institute
    Pacific Legal Foundation
    Reason Foundation

  11. I was all set to go and heckle Shaidle, but the damn thing is on when hard working taxpayers, like me, are at work. Maybe they can bus in seniors from the Cherryhill Mall. They’re always cranky. And we can definitely look forward to a stern letter to the editor from Dr. Roy about how this largely unattended event was skipped by the Freeps.

    Good times in the Forest City.

  12. Kathy seems to be popular over there. As are Ezra Levant and Mark Steyn.

    Only costs $10 to join their little institute.

  13. Hey, it turns out that I can’t read a calendar. I’m a natural fit for that crowd.

  14. Martin

    Strange that it’s happening in London…for years, City Council has completely unreasonably tried to hold any tax hikes to a minimum, while infrastructure (and perhaps the city itself) have deteriorated.

    No doubt the protesters will be discussing a thorough and thoughtful revamp of the distribution of taxation powers between the feds, provinces and municipalities, in light of current economic, demographic and social pressures and with an eye to future competitiveness.

    Or maybe they’ll just be a bunch of angry white cranks motivated by self-interest. One or the other.

  15. Ti-Guy

    I went looking for biographies of the people who are associated with the Forest City Institute and just kept come across white supremacist site after white supremacist site.

    I don’t know why this is (because, conceptually, it doesn’t seem at all clear or necessary) but why are these “liberty ideologues” always so closely associated with racism?

  16. I didn’t draw quite the same conclusions that you did, but they’re firmly entrenched in the far end of the right-wing/libertarian ideological camp. Which is all fine and good, but I’d come back to the question of providing evidence to back up their assertions. How about we just deal with the merits of the claims they’re making…

  17. Ti-Guy

    How about we just deal with the merits of the claims they’re making…

    Well, I’m not going to do their work for them. I really don’t care that much. It’s London, Ontario for God’s sakes. The first city in Canada to have a major “dead mall.” If the city government is inept, the business community is even more so.

  18. No, I don’t particularly care to waste my time doing their homework for them either, but am just suggesting that before much further attention is paid to these claims, perhaps they should be vetted.

    Maybe “Bob” can investigate their claims when he’s done backing up his false equivalency about me and the hateful runt that will be speaking at this little affair.

Leave a Reply

