Do Something Good Today!

onematch

This is kind of a no-brainer that will not only instantly make you feel like a better person (not that you aren’t super-terrific and a box of chocolates already, of course), but could, quite literally give someone the gift of life. All you have to do is click on the above graphic and go register with the OneMatch Stem Cell and Marrow Network (Canadians only, but the USA likely has something similar).

As if those two things (“better person” + “gift of life”) weren’t amazingly compelling incentives right there, know also that you’ll be contributing in a very positive and lasting way to the legacy of a very gracious and decent fellow.

So what are you waiting for?

It costs nothing and could hold the key to someone’s future. Not much of a downside there! Oh, and don’t be giving me any lame excuses about how bad and seedy you are, from a medical point of view…

Update: Still not convinced? Here are some more reasons to do what you can to help out to others in need of your support.

19 Comments

Filed under Charity

19 responses to “Do Something Good Today!

  1. Gayle

    I am glad you posted this. I used to donate blood regularly, but I lived in the UK in the early 1990’s at the height of “mad cow” and was told I could not donate blood anymore.

    I actually thought that applied to bone marrow too, but in reading the site it does not appear to apply, so I shall register myself as a donor.

    Thanks!

  2. sassy

    It’s unfortunate that they will not accept donors over the age of 50 yrs. but I suppose they have valid reasons.

  3. Gayle — That’s good to hear!

  4. Sassy — Heh. I like the fact you’re over 50 and “sassy”… Also good to hear! Sorry, that made me laugh — but in an entirely positive way.

    And hey, you can can still donate in other ways… As in the standard $$$ form of contribution.

  5. I just blogged this too, and am hoping to get a few new people to sign up!

    Oh and thanks for comment, you were bang on about the teenager situation for sure. 😉

  6. sassy

    RT – can still donate in other ways

    Yes, folks of a certain age do finds way to made a contribution. 😉

  7. I rather enjoy being of a certain age all things notwithstanding, although to be perfectly honest, I wouldn’t mind it if I stumbled across a WayBack Machine® so I could tweak a few things here and there…

  8. Sassy, you can donate blood until you are 71, and morrow donor recipients need lots of blood before and after transplants.

    So maybe you can still donate, regardless of the restriction?

  9. sassy

    Aurelia – Thanks.

    Just found this. Seems that even the age restriction of 71 no longer applies

    RT – WayBack Machine®, LOL

  10. I used to work with a guy that elected to call himself Sherman to my Peabody (and that’s the way we addressed ourselves in inter-company e-mails… go figure), so I have a somewhat special affinity for the ol’ WayBack Machine®…

  11. Gordon S

    Yeah, been on this for a while.

    It’s surprising how many people aren’t on donor lists of all sorts.

    These lists should be switched to an opt-out system when you turn 18.

  12. CWTF

    >> These lists should be switched to an opt-out system when you turn 18.<<
    Please don’t open up that can of worms…

  13. Gay men, even those of us who are HIV negative, can’t donate, either.

  14. Bowler

    Done. Thanks for doing this, Red.

  15. Dan — That’s unfortunate, but there are still other ways in which to contribute, so consider that perhaps.

  16. MD

    Red Tory: Thank you for this important post. One thing I learned when RC had his first bout of cancer is that there is a severe shortage of ethnic donors, particularly East Indians. I was a donor for a few years back and it was not at all an onerous process. Unlike solid organ donation, it is often very little trouble for the donor and provides a chance to make a big difference. I would especially encourage people from ethnic communities to sign up.

  17. MD — Interesting point. Maybe there’s a reason why “ethnic donors” are underrepresented in which case that’s something that needs to be respected and taken into account. But again, they can contribute in other ways to what seems to be a very worthwhile cause.

  18. sassy

    Toujoursdan – I just came across this post . . . Liberals to discuss un-banning gay organ donors

  19. Carrie

    I actually have a rare bone marrow disorder which leads to various bone marrow cancers, so I cannot donate anything more than money. So I do that (the money thing, what little I can) but I’ve also got a national charity development in the works for my disorder, which will fund research into bone marrow disorders and diseases.

    I’m so sorry to learn you’re not blogging just now and more sorry to learn about RC. What RC is dealing with angers me on his behalf. Being in my 40’s and mostly too sick for anything, I would gladly go in his place if I could. 35 is way too young.

    My thoughts are with both you and RC. I’m so sorry this has happened to him.

    RT, glad you’re taking care of yourself. Looking forward to your return.

Leave a Reply

