X-Challenge

Like 32.5 million others or so, I must have completely missed this program on CBC’s Newsworld channel. Billed as “the show that kicks democracy into hyperdrive…” There are several parts to it, but here are two (the beginning and the end, in fact) that will give you the flavour of this “political experiment that’s never been tried before in this country”:

I won’t be a spoiler and tell you who actually “won” this fun-filled little event focused on the economy, but let’s say that it wasn’t the NDPs or Greens.

11 Comments

Filed under 2008 Canadian Election

11 responses to “X-Challenge

  1. Carrie

    I caught it on a repeat airing. It was much better than I expected. Gave me hope and all that 🙂

  2. Tomm

    It would have been nice to see more.

    Scotty picked the wrong time to switch parties.

  3. If one’s paramount consideration is political expedience, then yes, Brison likely displayed poor judgment in hindsight when he switched parties. But if principles and core beliefs mean anything, then the former doesn’t really matter all that much.

  4. Ti-Guy

    Am I really expected to persist through a program the entire audience of which is made up of salespeople?

    Can someone just summarise the whole thing, or do I risk ending up feeling I should just stuff my head in the oven?

  5. I enjoyed watching that. Thanks RT.

    So will Baird be speaking on behalf of the Conservatives in the next episode?

    What interesting is that the demographic profile of the audience seems to favour the Conservatives. Sales people for a session on the economy and gas guzzlers for the session on the environment. I guess that’s the nature of the challenge.

  6. Apparently, in the next round of this quite amusing little “experiment” dealing with the environment, the audience will be made up of environmental pigs (shameless consumers and carbon footprint criminals).

    Yes, the demographic profile does seem to favour the Conservatives, but I think that’s kind of the “point” of the show… to see if people can be dissuaded from their preconceptions.

    I guess we could get into a discussion about media “bias” here…

  7. Ti-Guy

    Yes, the demographic profile does seem to favour the Conservatives…

    I didn’t think so as much as it appeared to be an exercise in selling democratic policy the way one sells any other product. When I think of all the failed products that manage to get to market, I’m not all that convinced they themselves are the best arbiters of sales pitches, let alone that they have anything to tell the rest of us about economic policy.

    Given what I know now about next episode of the X-Challenge, I’m less disturbed about what it’s attempting to do with regard to democracy and more disturbed about what the hell is happening with the CBC.

  8. I think the CBC – wanting the funding and scared as hell, knowing how Harper and the Cons hate the CBC……are protecting their butts.

  9. Ti-Guy — I dunno, it seems like a worthwhile venture to me and a quite interesting bit of programming. It might have been more amusing to flip the premise on its head a bit and challenge an audience of “environmentalists” for example to change their opinions rather than the particular demographic selected for the next “town hall” meeting (that’s totally not a town hall meeting). The “framing” is kind of conventional, but it’s fairly earnest and well-meaning.

    I didn’t think so as much as it appeared to be an exercise in selling democratic policy the way one sells any other product. When I think of all the failed products that manage to get to market, I’m not all that convinced they themselves are the best arbiters of sales pitches, let alone that they have anything to tell the rest of us about economic policy.

    You’re such a cynic. Do you attribute completely rotten “bad faith” to absolutely everyone? Sheesh. It must be hard to get through the day sometimes with an attitude like that.

    Why did the CBC producers pick “sales people” as their demographic for this initial episode? Well, we could expend a lot of thought and energy trying to figure that out through the application of our imaginations, but I’d suspect it wasn’t based on a lot of deep thinking, but more just the notion that people who spend their lives pitching ideas (good, bad or indifferent) for a living would make for an interesting (and potentially volatile and rather unpredictable) group of people to test market the ideas of various parties on the economy.

  10. Ti-Guy

    Do you attribute completely rotten “bad faith” to absolutely everyone? Sheesh. It must be hard to get through the day sometimes with an attitude like that.

    I’m more amused than what might be coming through in my comments.

    but more just the notion that people who spend their lives pitching ideas (good, bad or indifferent) for a living would make for an interesting (and potentially volatile and rather unpredictable) group of people to test market the ideas of various parties on the economy.

    You know how I feel when the words “ideas” and market” appear together.

  11. Pingback: Resettle THIS!

Leave a Reply

