Get Out the Vote!

Well, we’re down to the wire here, folks.  My daughter has made great strides over the last few days, rocketing up from 268 to 539 in the Harper-Collins “Share the Reading” contest, but is still inexplicably trailing by about 50 votes to a witless person who adores puppies and thinks the book adaptation of “Marley and Me” is a literary wonder.

So now it’s all down to the proverbial ground game and turning out the votes. Today is the last day to cast a ballot.  Essentially, it  boils down to this choice:

STR-Ciontest

Need I say more?

By the way, if you’ve already voted… no problem, you can vote again!

https://hccsharereadingcontest.com/mobile/profile.php?entry=503300352

And if you can pass that link on after voting via email or to your social networks that would be terrific. I would love nothing more than to help score a win for her and the worthy charitable foundation she’s competing for.

7 Comments

Filed under Personal Crap

7 responses to “Get Out the Vote!

  1. jkg

    Oh nuts, sorry Red, I had a week of not checking in, and I missed this! My apologies good sir. I am glad you are still kicking. I know it is depressing these days; there seems to be little refuge from it all (though here is a nice place).

  2. I would like in my heart to believe that justice will prevail and that your daughter will win; however, my head tells me that she will not. A sad commentary …

  3. Tomm

    haven’t checked your site our for ages. I voted have voted for the flower pot… NOT!

  4. Nomennovum

    Your daughter seems very sweet and I’ve never hear of Marley and me. So, she would have my vote … if I weren’t so late (Dad notwithstanding).

    Politics has become more than a drag. It now seems beside the point. We are fucked regardless.

  5. FYI, she lost out to the flower pot. Well, such is life.

    And to Nomennovum, I second that emotion. It’s why I haven’t bothered dealing with the blog for a long while. Politics in the Great White North has been a drag… a Conservative majority with all the thrilling excitement of cold tapioca and here at “home” an inertial NDP government sitting on a 14 year incumbency (how dynamic do you think THAT is?). I’ve just had better things to.

    But hey, I may get more engaged. I do sort of miss this place.

  6. “Politics in the Great White North has been a drag… a Conservative majority with all the thrilling excitement of cold tapioca and here at “home” an inertial NDP government sitting on a 14 year incumbency (how dynamic do you think THAT is?). I’ve just had better things to.”

    If you want to get wonkish, the PST hike’s been a fascinating and controversial topic. There’s also been the clusterf*ck of LGTB rights opposition coming out of the less savoury circles of Manitoba.

Leave a Reply

