Top of the World

Exactly six years since construction began, today marks the opening of the $2 billion Burj Dubai, a ridiculous monstrosity that reaches half a mile into the sky. At a reported 2,717ft (slightly more than twice the size of the Empire State Building) the new “superbuilding” is now the tallest man-made structure in the world, surpassing the 2,063ft KVLY-TV mast in North Dakota. By comparison, the CN Tower is a piddling 1,815ft.

Meanwhile, more than nine years after the WTC was destroyed, America’s new “Freedom Tower” is finally getting off the ground.

18 Comments

Filed under Architecture

18 responses to “Top of the World

  1. When the end comes Dubai will definitely have the coolest ruins.

  2. Guzzeuntite

    That building is destined never to be filled, given the state Dubai is in.

    My prediction: It will be converted into a mosque by 2020 A.D. — I mean 1441 A.H.

  3. Guzzeuntite

    Ti-Guy will be doing the call-to-prayers from the top.

  4. Ti-Guy

    Ti-Guy will be doing the call-to-prayers from the top.

    What is this even mean? Am I being accused of being a Muslim and therefore should feel insulted?

    What the hell’s wrong with you? Is this what passes for polite discussion where you live?

  5. Ti-Guy

    What is this even mean? sb What does this even mean?

  6. Guzzeuntite

    Chill. You’re so upset that you can’t even get your words out right. No, Tiggy, dear, it does NOT mean that I think you are Muslim. Get over your knee-jerk leftist bullshit and get over yourself.

    It means I pushed the right button, I guess.

  7. Ti-Guy

    It means I pushed the right button, I guess.

    Good for you.

  8. Guzzeuntite

    Thanks, caddie. Here’s a Jackson. Now be a good boy and go shine my shoes.

  9. Sorry to disappoint you there Guzzy, but it’s already 90% pre-sold.

  10. Guzzeuntite

    Well, may Scientology center on the 6th floor, next to the Canadian Interests department, then.

    Pre-sold or pre-rented?

  11. Sold. It’s mostly residential condominiums.

  12. Guzzeuntite

    Yeesh. Try walking up and down the stairs during a black-out, carrying a kid and a bag of groceries. I lived on 21st floor during one, and it’s no fun. I hope the power grid is more reliable than Con Ed’s.

    90% pre-sold, eh? Not impressed. I think we may see more than a few walk from their deposits. Dubai real estate is a mess.

    It will make a quite … impressive … mosque. And, no, Ti-Guy, that’s not an insult. One of Islam’s greatest gifts has been its architecture. Not that this is an example of it.

  13. Guzzeuntite

    “Meanwhile, more than nine years after the WTC was destroyed, America’s new “Freedom Tower” is finally getting off the ground.” — RT

    Thant’s what happens when the gummint owns the land. Scandal.

  14. Ti-Guy

    Well, may Scientology center on the 6th floor, next to the Canadian Interests department, then.

    This almost works. Correct/refine and re-submit.

  15. Guzzeuntite

    “Correct/refine and re-submit.” – Ti-Guy

    Too late, Ti-Guy. You are too slow off the mark to correct my typos.

    ‘Sides: no one can top your sentence, “If there was any doubt y’all didn’t deserve it, the moral imbecility … leaves little doubt,” which appears in the other thread where we’re having such a lovely discussion.

  16. Ti-Guy

    You are too slow off the mark to correct my typos.

    I had no interest in doing that. I was giving you an opportunity to rework something that showed promise.

    I like jokes about how boring Canadians are, as long as a modicum of effort has gone into them.

    One of my favourites is in the form of a “Canadian version” of a well-known joke:

    A lady goes into a drugstore and buys some Aspirins. Inadvertently, she leaves them on the counter and exits the store.

    She boards a bus to go home and just as the bus starts moving, she remembers the forgotten purchase, jumps up from her seat and yells “My aspirins! My aspirins!”

    And the bus driver says: “Gee lady, maybe you left them on the counter in the drugstore.”

  17. Guzzeuntite

    “I like jokes about how boring Canadians are, as long as a modicum of effort has gone into them.” — Ti-Guy

    Well, I can’t say that I’ve heard to many; however, my joke wasn’t meant to be one of them.

    But thanks for the critique. My next “Canada is so small” joke will be much better.

  18. Guzzeuntite

    TOO many typos.

Leave a Reply

