Driving With Cox

Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

Watching young Dr. Cox last night on The Colbert Report talking about his new book Why E= mc2 and debunking the notion that’s been floated by some physicists that people from the future may be influencing the present in order to prevent catastrophic events associated with CERN’s particle-smashing collider from happening, I’ve been enjoying some the videos of him that are around.

Here for example, he talks about the possibility that the world may end in 2012 at the end of the Mayan “Long Count” calendar — in the process pointing out a somewhat humorous flaw in their system of calculation (that should really have been obvious).

The physics of cosmology is endlessly fascinating, so expect to see more of him popping up here from time to time.

6 Comments

Filed under Humour, Science

6 responses to “Driving With Cox

  1. foottothefire

    I wondered how Harper derived his economic action plan! It is now all revealed.

  2. LOL Good one!

    Geez, I wish I’d thought of that.

  3. counter-coulter

    Damn you RT, now you’ve got me hooked on it. I went on the tubes and found pretty much the entire BBC show he did.

  4. unrepentant_expat

    2012! Isn’t that the year Sarah Palin becomes President elect?

  5. C-C: Sorry? Not.

    I’m always happy to stumble over these things and share them here in the hopes others will get just as excited and turned onto them as I am.

    To me, it’s the most enjoyable aspect of blogging. If was just simply about slagging “the enemy” (as fun as that can be) I’d quickly tire of the exercise.

  6. I have a friend who completely believes that the world will be ending in 2012 … and holds a number of valuable five-year bonds.

    Personally, I always thought the Mayans ran out of numbers at 13,000 because that’s when the chisel went dull.

Leave a Reply

